What is the AEWA Small Grants Fund?

The AEWA Small Grants Fund (SGF) is a source of financial support aimed at promoting the implementation of the Agreement in developing countries and countries with economies in transition. It has so far focused exclusively on the African region.

Since its launch in 2010, the Fund has benefited both governmental and non-governmental organizations carrying out a wide range of waterbird conservation activities, for example, in the areas of species and habitat conservation, training and awareness-raising for different target groups, survey and monitoring of species and sites, and livelihood related activities.


Latest News

1 June 2016 - The application period for the 2015 cycle of the AEWA Small Grants Fund is now closed and the evaluation process is underway.



Proposed projects must contribute to the implementation of AEWA and its Strategic Plan 2009-2018, and/or to the activities highlighted by the AEWA Plan of Action for Africa 2012-2018.

Project proposals can be submitted by any national governmental agency or any national or international non-governmental agency/organization involved with the conservation of migratory waterbirds and/or their habitats in the respective eligible country.

The list of countries eligible for funding is published with each call for proposals. However, in general, projects are not eligible for funding if a Small Grants Fund project from an earlier cycle is ongoing in the respective country. Projects in member countries are also not eligible for funding if the respective country is more than three years in arrears with its annual financial contributions to AEWA.  

Applicants are advised to consult the Operational Guidelines for the AEWA Small Grants Fund prior to preparing their project proposal.

How to Apply

The application period for the 2015 cycle of the AEWA Small Grants Fund is closed. The application deadline was 27 March 2015. Please re-visit the AEWA website for future calls for proposals.

Funded Projects

14 projects from 14 African countries (Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Senegal, Tanzania, Togo and Uganda) have so far been funded under the programme (SGF cycles 2010 to 2013).

For more information on SGF-funded projects please click on the links below:

Support the AEWA Small Grants Fund!                               

The AEWA Small Grants Fund currently relies exclusively on voluntary financial contributions. If you wish to support the Fund, please contact the UNEP/AEWA Secretariat at aewa.secretariat@unep-aewa.org.

Other Funding Opportunities

In addition to the AEWA Small Grants Fund, the following funding opportunities exist with the Convention on the Conservation of Migratory Species of Wild Animals (CMS) and some of its instruments: